au iconAU



Natural disaster declared in 2 additional local government areas

Kempsey and Port Macquarie Hastings have been added to the other 40 local government areas that were declared natural disaster zones after the June-July weather events.

Natural disaster declared in 2 additional local government areas
smsfadviser logo

It means that individuals and businesses in those areas can now claim Commonwealth-state disaster assistance.

Federal Minister for Emergency Management, Murray Watt, said the severe weather and flooding have impacted many areas along the east coast of NSW, with recovery operations continuing.

“Although the worst of the weather event is behind us, it is critical that the NSW and Federal governments continue to deliver support to residents and businesses impacted by these floods,” Mr Watt said.

“That includes making sure that the support on offer is available as quickly and simply as possible.”

The number of LGAs now subject to a natural disaster declaration stretches from Shoalhaven in the south to Kempsey in the north and west to Lithgow.

Disaster assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Assistance available under the DRFA may include:

  • Help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged (eligibility criteria apply)
  • Support for local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets
  • Concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations
  • Freight subsidies for primary producers.

The 42 LGAs now subject to natural disaster declarations are Bayside, Blacktown, Blue Mountains, Camden, Canterbury Bankstown, Campbelltown, Central Coast, Cessnock, Cumberland, Dungog, Fairfield, Georges River, Hawkesbury, Hornsby, Kempsey, Kiama, Lake Macquarie, Lithgow, Liverpool, Maitland, MidCoast, Muswellbrook, Nambucca, Narromine, Newcastle, Northern Beaches, Oberon, Penrith, Port Macquarie Hastings, Port Stephens, Randwick, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Singleton, Strathfield, Sutherland, The Hills, Upper Lachlan, Warren, Wingecarribee, Wollondilly and Wollongong.

For information relating to financial assistance, replacing lost documents, Recovery Centre locations and more, contact Service NSW on 13 77 88 or visit www.nsw.gov.au/floods.

To apply for a concessional interest rate loan, contact the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593 or visit www.raa.nsw.gov.au.

Subscribe to Public Accountant

Receive the latest news, opinion and features directly to your inbox