au iconAU



Disaster assistance extended following southern Qld flooding

Communities in flood-affected areas of southern Queensland in May will now have access to additional funding.

Disaster assistance extended following southern Qld flooding
smsfadviser logo

The assistance is made available through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA). 

The Bulloo, Goondiwindi and Murweh councils now have access to funding to repair essential public assets damaged during the deluge and resulting flooding.

Federal Minister for Emergency Management, Murray Watt, said persistent rain had flooded several Southern Queensland communities, many of which were still recovering from earlier disaster events.

In addition, DRFA for Goondiwindi has also been activated to help with the costs of counter disaster operations following the event between 6 May and 20 May 2022.

Not-for-profit organisations in the Balonne, Gympie, Lockyer Valley, Moreton Bay, Somerset, Southern Downs, Toowoomba and Western Downs local government areas now also have access to disaster assistance loans for essential working capital.

This extension of the DRFA brings the total number of local government areas receiving disaster assistance to 23. These LGAs are: Balonne, Brisbane, Bulloo, Bundaberg, Fraser Coast, Gold Coast, Goondiwindi, Gladstone, Gympie, Ipswich, Livingstone, Lockyer Valley, Logan, Murweh, Moreton Bay, North Burnett, Rockhampton, Scenic Rim, Somerset, South Burnett, Southern Downs, Toowoomba and Western Downs.

For more information on assistance available to not-for-profit organisations visit www.qrida.qld.gov.au or free call 1800 623 946.

Subscribe to Public Accountant

Receive the latest news, opinion and features directly to your inbox